Maier Shines at Clay County

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs


(Flora, IL) Jason Maier was a man on a mission Friday night at Clay County Speedway for the inaugural running of the WIldgraphix Southern 20. On a track that most of the drivers had never seen before, Maier took full advantage of the situation and swept the entire night.

Maier started off the night like a rocket ship in HP Machine qualifying. Rolling off last he would lay down a blistering lap of 18.730 seconds around the 1/3 mile clay oval. Two-time MSCT champion Jerrad Krick came in second and veteran Darrell Dick third. Maier would then draw a 2 in the “High Stakes Invert” draw, putting him on the outside of the front row for the first of two heat races.

Utilizing the bottom of the track, Maier jumped out to an early advantage in his heat race and would never look back as he cruised to victory. He was followed by Darrell Dick, Josh Griffith, Chase Estes, and Tanner Sullivan. The second heat race was much of the same as the other 99 car of Jerrad Krick led wire-to-wire to secure a front row starting spot for the feature event. Megan Erwin came home second, Nick Macklin third, John Shick fourth, and Justin Thomas fifth.


Maier would choose the outside lane for the start of the Wildgraphix Southern 20 and it would prove to be a smart decison as he jumped out to an early and commanding lead. Second place starter Jerrad Krick would start to catch Maier as he was slowed by lap traffic and the race’s two caution flags but Maier would prove to be too much for Krick as he held on for the win. Krick came across the line in second followed by Chase Estes, Nick Macklin, and Tanner Sullivan.

The Midwest Stock Car Tour is back in action with a double-header weekend on June 14 and 15 with the first visit to Sycamore Speedway and the back to The Dirt Oval at RT 66 in Joliet.

Wildgraphix Southern 20 Results

HP Machine Qualifying (1 Lap)

  1. 99-Jason Maier, 00:18.730

  2. 99K-Jerrad Krick, 00:18.800

  3. 22-Darrell Dick, 00:19.080

  4. 24R-Robert Smith, 00:19.110

  5. 15-Chase Estes, 00:19.230

  6. 16-Nick Macklin, 00:19.290

  7. 97-Josh Griffith, 00:19.400

  8. 14-Megan Erwin, 00:19.560

  9. 20-Tanner Sullivan, 00:19.590

  10. 9-John Shick, 00:19.630

  11. 27-Bailey Aukland, 00:21.130

  12. 227-Justin Thomas, 00:21.370

  13. 37-Lance Evans, 00:22.360

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Heat Race One (8 Laps)

  1. 99-Jason Maier, [2]

  2. 22-Darrell Dick, [1]

  3. 97-Josh Griffith, [4]

  4. 15-Chase Estes, [3]

  5. 20-Tanner Sullivan, [5]

  6. (DNF) 27-Bailey Aukland, [6]

  7. (DNF) 37-Lance Evans, [7]

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Heat Race Two (8 Laps)

  1. 99K-Jerrad Krick, [2]

  2. 14-Megan Erwin, [4]

  3. 16-Nick Macklin, [3]

  4. 9-John Shick, [5]

  5. 227-justin thomas, [6]

  6. 24R-Robert Smith, [1]

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Scott Leeman / SRL Designs

Feature (20 Laps)

  1. 99-Jason Maier, [1]

  2. 99K-Jerrad Krick, [2]

  3. 15-Chase Estes, [7]

  4. 16-Nick Macklin, [6]

  5. 20-Tanner Sullivan, [9]

  6. 97-Josh Griffith, [5]

  7. 9-John Shick, [8]

  8. 27-Bailey Aukland, [11]

  9. (DNF) 14-Megan Erwin, [4]

  10. (DNF) 22-Darrell Dick, [3]

  11. (DNF) 227-Justin Thomas, [10]

  12. (DNF) 24R-Robert Smith, [12]

  13. (DNF) 37-Lance Evans, [13]

Contingency Awards

The Midwest Stock Car Tour is proud to partner with the following companies for the 2019 racing season!